The Elusive Art Of The Interview – Gianni, Brokenshire, Darrow, Nadler, Thompson

Since taking up my new job at Comicon.com, I’ve gradually returned to doing long-form interviews with comic professionals and other pop culture creators, and I hope to do more in future. But I have been aware of a change in how I interview people, which started when I was at BC in 2015 or so, but now has shifted even more–and that’s a move toward discussion rather than Q&A.

My questions have gotten longer, and perhaps more rambling (though they always were) and I’m more interested in asking someone to talk about their world than to confirm an influence or a particular objective. In rhetorical terms, my questions are now open-ended, and I wait to see what happens.  Creators don’t seem to mind–so far, they’ve been happy with this approach, to the best of my knowledge.

Here are five interviews I’ve conducted recently for Comicon.com.

Firstly, the great illustrator and cartoonist Gary Gianni, who worked with Mike Mignola on the new OGN Hellboy: Into The Silent Sea. His inking style will take you back in time to classic literary and pulp traditions. You can find that interview here.

hellboy-into-the-silent-sea-hc-vo

Secondly, Scottish artist Nickolas Brokenshire, who having completed many series of the Monkeybrain/IDW series Amelia Cole plunged even more firmly into magical realities with The Once and Future Queen from Dark Horse with Adam P. Knave and DJ Kirkbride. Brokenshire’s interview even flowed into a two-parter, which you can find Part 1 here and Part 2 here.

Issue2Cover

Next, I interviewed someone who had always been in my Pantheon of creators but I wouldn’t have necessarily believed that I’d have a chance to speak to him–and that is Geof Darrow. Due to his new comic series Shaolin Cowboy: Who’ll Stop The Reign? he was available and also because he has a new art book coming out, Lead Poisoning: The Pencil Art of Geof Darrow. You can find that interview here and expect some frank commentary on the state of the world.

SHCOW2-1-CVR-1

Lastly, I spoke to both of the rather philosophical writers on a Black Mask Studios series known as The Dregs. This series combines noir detective elements with horror, but over a backdrop where social issues loom large in Vancouver, BC. Lonnie Nadler and Zac Thompson talk with me here.

STL040138

I have more interviews coming up, some already in hand and ready to publish, but I thought I’d start with these as a handful of new ventures in what I hope is a new style of conversation.

 

2 thoughts on “The Elusive Art Of The Interview – Gianni, Brokenshire, Darrow, Nadler, Thompson

  1. In trying to refine my own techniques, I have been reading a lot of interviews lately. I really enjoy the longer, more free form style that you are using. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

